ST THOMAS APCM 2021 CHARLTON DEANERY SYNOD REPORT

St Thomas' qualifies for two lay representatives to Charlton Deanery Synod. Judith Clark was elected at the 2017 APCM to serve for three years, but resigned in July 2019 and Amelia Cortez was elected in May 2019. Period of office was extended in 2020 until elections could take place this year. The Rector and Assistant Clergy are automatically members of Deanery Synod as well as being members of the Charlton Chapter. Rick Newman is Lay Chair of Charlton Deanery and as such is a de-facto member of both Charlton Deanery Synod and Southwark Diocesan Synod.

Charlton Deanery is made up of eleven parishes and also includes Queen Elizabeth Hospital Chaplaincy, The Old Royal Naval College Chapel, Morden College, Grace Church Greenwich and Open Space at Kidbrooke.

As noted previously there is an ever-greater importance placed on the work of deaneries and lay involvement. Charlton Deanery has been active in developing its Mission Action Plan, which includes the creation of a Deanery Leadership Team and to progress Charlton as an Eco-Deanery as well as considering how the deanery might engage with local initiatives to address food insufficiency. Deanery Synod normally meets four times a year but over the past year this has not been possible. Instead there have been two meetings held online.

Liz Newman